Try again

So, I’ve managed to recover almost everything.  Seems I edited a URL wrong and everything was immediately transported into the blogosphere’s Twilight Zone.  So far I have not found the original blog, so here’s a quick recap in case it’s lost forever.

School daze, indigent ways, Cooking with Julia (did you know she was a spy?), married w/children, midlife panic, ambulance jockey, devilish church musician, kids released back into the wild, leisure time, birds and beer, Sarah’s EasyShare.

I had never paid much attention to the birds around here except when they crapped on my car.  Thought every bird I saw was a sparrow or a pigeon, so I was a little surprised when we started looking up the birds we saw at the feeders and they were nearly all House Finches.

Male and female House Finches

 

That is one of the first shots I took of birds.  It’s a little out of focus, but I really liked the way the birds were looking at me.  If you interpret their look as indignation for my prying, congratulations, you’ve inherited the almost universal human ability to anthropomorphize.

Here’s a picture of a curve-billed Thrasher I took with the EasyShare.

Curve-billed Thrasher

The focus is better, I was already starting to realize that if you could get the eyes and bill in focus the rest was not so important.  I hadn’t quite figured out the ISO, aperture, shutter speed, depth of field, beers consumed ratio yet but I was learning.  The camera takes pretty good pictures, but it was kinda slow to focus and to zoom, and you couldn’t change lenses or filters on it.  If you could get close to the subject it was great though–a good camera for sitting by the feeders and taking pics while you drink beer.

 

Leave a Reply

