Jim’s Lake

Jim’s Lake is a private pond in southeastern Hutchinson County about 10 miles east of Borger.  I had talked to the owner a few weeks ago about taking pictures and today I finally got a chance to get out there.  I had seen a post on ebird in January that listed a dozen or more birds at Jim’s Lake, a couple that I hadn’t seen, so I was looking forward to going.

Unfortunately, January must have been the peak season.  I saw a lot of tracks around the pond-birds, deer, raccoons and such, but I didn’t see that many birds other than a large flock of Red-winged Blackbirds and a couple dozen meadowlarks.  It wasn’t a total waste, though, it was a beautiful morning and it’s a really nice little pond and there was a  large flock of Wild Turkeys.  The toms were displaying and looked great.

Wild Turkey (17) (1024x698)

Wild Turkey (13) (1024x783)

Wild Turkey (12) (1024x684)

One thought on “Jim’s Lake

  1. Pingback: Is This Love? | Bit of an Odd Duck

Leave a Reply

