Spring Canyon

It hardly seems like spring in Hutchinson County.  Temperatures this week have been in the mid-90’s-a few new records and certainly hot enough for me.  Thanks to the rains last month it is as green around here as it’s been in years.  We’re supposed to cool off and get more rain next week.

I saw a White-winged Dove last evening as I sat in the yard watching the birds settle for the night.  I guess they’ve been around all along-I just thought they were Mourning Doves.  I didn’t have my camera with me, but here is a photo of one from last month that I had originally mis-tagged.

The Green Heron that Sheila and I saw Tuesday was still at Spring Canyon this morning and I was able to get a few more nice shots of him.  I was crouched at the end of the bird walk at one of the smaller ponds, trying to get a decent pic of the Common Yellowthroats that have been singing by the pond when the Green Heron flew in and landed about 20 feet away with the sun behind me so the light was perfect.

green-heron-14-1280x974

green-heron-19-1280x919  I had hoped to see him catch a frog or a fish, but he looked around for a minute and then flew off.green-heron-22-1280x833

At the main pond there were several Scissor-tailed Flycatchersscissor-tailed-flycatcher-69-1280x863 and Ash-throated Flycatchers, ash=throated-flycatcher-18-1280x857a dozen or so Cliff Swallows and Rough-winged Swallows and a single Barn Swallow, a Ladder-backed Woodpecker and a couple of Orchard Orioles.orchard-oriole-13-1280x855  One of the Scissor-tailed Flycatchers was working on a nest.

Over the winter there had been several American Goldfinches at my feeders at home, but I had never seen one in full breeding colors.  This one was at Spring Canyon this morning.american-goldfinch-14-1280x793

So, I didn’t see anything new this morning and never did get a really good photo of the Yellowthroats, but I did get some good photographs of some of my favorite birds.  All in all a nice morning at Spring Canyon.

Leave a Reply

