New Birds

Tuesday was another  cloudy, cool morning.  The good news was that there was very little wind-thebad news is no rain yet, even though it’s been overcast since Sunday morning.  I made the rounds at Meredith this morning and had a pretty good day birding with two new birds.  Unfortunately the photography wasn’t so hot.  Set the camera up with the wrong ISO and everything was overexposed.  I was able to salvage a few with editing software so that I could at least ID the new birds.

The first one was a Say’s Phoebe, not an uncommon bird in Hutchinson County, but the first I had seen.  It’s a flycatcher like the Kingbirds and Scissor-tailed Flycatcher and the Eastern Phoebe that I’ve been seeing the last few weeks and likes the dry canyons for hunting insects.

The other was a Painted Bunting, again not an uncommon bird in this area, but I had never noticed them before.  They are a very colorful bird with a blue head a red breast and green and orange backs. Too bad the photos weren’t that great.

I also saw a lot of Scissor-tailed Flycatchers and Kingbirds, both of the warblers and one of the orioles that I’ve been seeing the past week or so, two more Blue Grosbeaks and a little Rock Wren.I’ll try to get out next week and see if I can get some decent photos of the Phoebe and the Bunting for you.

Leave a Reply

