Greater Roadrunner

I came across a Greater Roadrunner this morning at Fritch Fortress.  They are pretty common around here and I’ve seen them darting across roads, hunting along the edge of 100 meter rocky cliffs, on boat docks, and in my front yard, but this is the first time I’ve seen one up a tree.  I’m not sure if he was frightened by me or if he was just looking for insects for his breakfast.  He jumped from branch to branch, higher and higher for several minutes, making a wooden, rattling sound, occasionally raising the crest on his head and cocking his tail feathers.  After a few minutes of climbing he sailed off and over the edge of a ravine.  Unfortunately, he jumped from the side of the tree opposite me so I didn’t get any photos of his flight.

greater-roadrunner-80-1280x900

greater-roadrunner-95-1280x837

greater-roadrunner-101-1280x889

greater-roadrunner-104-1280x825

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Greater Roadrunner

Leave a Reply

