Variety

I really enjoy birding this time of year.  Actually there’s not a bad time of the year to bird, although late summer gets a little slow around here.  Even then there’s lots of little surprises like the early Merlin I saw in late August.  This time of year, though, is fun for a lot of reasons–lots of migrating birds coming through, some of the winter residents are starting to arrive, and I don’t have to get up so early to catch the early morning light and birds.

I didn’t see an Osprey at all last fall or spring , even though they are listed in my bird guides as a common migrant for the area.  I saw one a couple of weeks ago and have seen it twice since.  I think it is the same bird but I’m unable to say for sure.  Wednesday morning I was able to get some nice photos of him.

osprey-23-1280x819

osprey-27-1280x953

I’ve also seen some of the winter residents around.  This Song Sparrow posed for me Sunday morning.

song-sparrow-27-1280x854_0

song-sparrow-30-1280x854

Western Meadowlarks (Easterns also) are supposed to be year round residents but I’ve only seen one or two all summer.  About a week or so ago Western Meadowlarks began showing up everywhere.  I haven’t heard any Eastern Meadowlarks around yet.  I said heard because that’s the only way i can tell them apart.  Their songs are similar, but the Western’s is longer and more intricate and sort of chipper sounding while the Eastern’s is shorter and plainer and seems a bit melancholy to me.

western-meadowlark-38-1280x842

American White Pelicans and Double-crested Cormorants have arrived at Meredith in the past week or two also.  The pelicans and cormorants seem to enjoy each others company; I see them together a lot.  The pelicans will often fish in groups, herding fish together to make them easier to catch.

The smaller darker birds are cormorants and the smallest white/gray birds are Ring-billed gulls.american-white-pelican-double-crested-cormorant-ring-billed-gull-1280x855

american-white-pelican-2-1280x844

american-white-pelican

See more photos in the galleries.

Leave a Reply

