Crummy Weather

My last post was 18 days ago, the longest time I’ve gone without posting.  It’s not that there haven’t been birds around to look at, there’s been plenty, but I just haven’t been able to get around as much I like, and when I have the weather has not cooperated at all.  I’ve lived in the panhandle since I was 8 and it’s always windy, but it has been incredibly windy the last 2 weeks with gusts around 60 mph some days.  It’s also been very dry and with a few exceptions, unusually warm, probably because of the southwest winds.  The area I live in is mostly river breaks and pasture, but north and south of us are farmlands and the dust blew so bad that there were fatal accidents.  I’ve also been pretty busy at work and haven’t been able to get out as much as I usually do.  When I do get to go birding I’ve not been having much luck getting close enough to the birds for good photos.  There are hundreds of waterfowl on the main lake, but hardly any at the smaller ponds around and that’s where I usually get my best photos.  I’ve not even been able to get any shots at my home feeders as House Sparrows have taken over and run everything else off.  I’ve quit feeding in hopes that they’ll go away but I think they stay in a neighbors attic and they don’t seem to be inclined to leave.  Maybe January will be better.

I finally was able to get a photo of the Scaled Quail that have been hanging out on the west side of the hospital.  They aren’t an uncommon bird around here but these are the first I’ve been able to get pictures of.scaled-quail

This Western Meadowlark posed for me for a few seconds before flying off.

western-meadowlark-2-1280x815

western-meadowlark-3-1280x843

A Rock Wren danced on this boulder for me.

rock-wren-1280x854

Great Blue Herongreat-blue-heron-1280x864

Northern Flickernorthern-flicker-1280x948

Ring-billed Gulls.  These are two of the smaller groups of several dozen around the lake.  Some were at least twice this large.

ring-billed-gull-1280x853

ring-billed-gull-2-1280x829

 

More photographs in the Galleries.

Leave a Reply

