Correction

The hard drive on my laptop died earlier this week.  It’s not the best thing to ever happen to me, but as it turns out, it wasn’t all that bad.  I know how unreliable hard drives are and had gotten into the habit of backing up stuff so that I don’t loose important things.  I had just backed up a few days before the failure and and only lost a few unprocessed photos that weren’t that great anyway.

As I was going through the restored photos photos, I came across these that were labeled as Eared Grebes.  It turns out they aren’t; they are Horned Grebes.  I’m sure that the one or two people that read my blog (relatives) are as relieved as I am to have this error corrected.  Even though I am appalled by my error, I’m also a bit pleased that I gotten a little better at identifying since last April.  These just jumped out at me as I was scrolling through the pics, it was so obvious.

Here’s the Horned Grebe.  Note the white tip on the end of the bill, and the solid line of golden feathers from the eye back.

horned-grebe-7-1280x878 horned-grebe-4-1280x824

 

Horned Grebe

Horned Grebe (3)

Horned Grebe (2)

 

Here’s an Eared Grebe for comparison.eared-grebe-30-1280x821Now I feel better.

2 thoughts on “Correction

    • A little, but mostly it was just my inexperience. When I came across the photos it was obvious that they weren’t Eared Grebes. I think that I had thought that they looked different because the bird was bathing and it’s feathers were all wet and matted down. It kind of embarrasses me that I missed with the ID the first time, but on the other hand, I’m pleased that I’ve improved ID skills since I took the photos.

      Like

Leave a Reply

