Rough 3 Weeks

This is my first post since the 19th of February.  It’s been a rough 3 weeks with snowstorms, illness, 60 mph winds, and to top it off, lots of overtime at work. I’ve only gotten out the lake to take pictures 2 or 3 times in the last 3 weeks and most of the pictures weren’t all that great or they were of the same old birds.  There’s been hundreds of Ring-billed Gulls and Mallards, and Northern Pintails at the lake.  I heard some reports of Red-breasted Mergansers out there also, but they were either gone or I don’t have the skill to differentiate them from the Common Mergansers, so I never got any photos of them.  I did get a rather poor quality picture of what I think is a Northern Shrike.

northern-shrike-1024x614

I’ve seen Loggerhead Shrikes here before and the difference between them is slight, but based on the narrow mask and more white around the eyes I’m calling this on a Northern. There have been some pretty reputable reports of Northern Shrikes in the area, so it’s possible; could just be wishful thinking on my part.

This Curve-billed Thrasher has been visiting my yard pretty steadily for the last 2 years.

curve-billed-thrasher-38-1024x683

Here’s a Ladder-backed Woodpecker searching for breakfast at Spring Canyon.

ladder-backed-woodpecker-106-1024x684

Another of the gorgeous Canvasbacks I’ve seen at the lake this winter.

canvasback-2-1024x633

The first Tree Swallow of the spring near the Sanford-Yake boat ramp.

tree-swallow-27-1024x657

A female Common Goldeneye takes off from one of the smaller ponds at Spring Canyon.

common-goldeneye-9-1024x656

An American Kestrel on Fritch Fortress Road.

american-kestrel-53-1024x667

A Horned Lark on a stubble field near Panhandle, Texas.

horned-lark-9-1024x678

A Killdeer and several Least Sandpipers on a sandbar near Fritch Fortress boat ramp.

least-sandpiper-and-killdeer-7-1024x684

Visit the Galleries for more photos.

Leave a Reply

