It’s New to Me

Well, that didn’t go as well as I had hoped.  I’ve not been happy with the web hosting site I’ve been using since I started the blog-it was incredibly slow which made it a chore to post new photos, so I migrated over to WordPress.com.  The posts made the trip but a lot of the links to the photos are broken. I’m trying to figure out what happened and am seeking help from the WordPress.com staff, but I may have to just re-upload and link the photos manually.  Good news is the site loads much faster than before.

Also new to me are a couple of songbirds I came across this past week at Lake Meredith, both at Cedar Canyon.  If this is the first time you’ve read the blog, I do most of my birding in the north-central Texas Panhandle, in Hutchinson, Potter, Randall, Moore, Carson, and Hansford counties, with occasional trips to the Texas coast, northern Texas (Baylor county) and southwestern Missouri.

Anyway, here’s the new birds, a couple of flycatchers. Neither are unusual birds-they are spring and fall migrants through the region, it’s just the first time in my 3 year birding career I’ve run across them.

Western Wood-Pewee, I think, I’m often wrong.  Seems to have just got up, lots of stretching and scratching.

Western Wood-Pewee (29) (1024x652)

Western Wood-Pewee (28) (1024x721)

Western Wood-Pewee (24) (1024x739)

Western Wood-Pewee (21) (1024x649)

Western Wood-Pewee (18) (1024x723)

Western Wood-Pewee (16) (1024x726)

Western Wood-Pewee (11) (1024x771)

Western Wood-Pewee (10) (1024x620)

 

Olive-sided Flycatcher. Not the greatest photo-he was a long way off, but good enough to ID him.

Olive-sided Flycatcher (1024x733)

Leave a Reply

