Bald Eagle

I spotted my first Bald Eagles of the season this morning at Palo Duro Reservoir in Hansford Co.  There was a pair of them on Palo Duro Creek about a mile south of the dam  That’s about a month earlier than last year for this location.  I had seen a lone Bald Eagle in June on the reservoir as well and that’s about 2 months later than the year before.  According to eBird, May, July, and August are the only months that a Bald Eagle has not been reported at the lake.  I haven’t seen any yet this year at Meredith, but in the past two years early November is the earliest I’ve spotted them.

This one launched himself from a dead cottonwood, made a circle and then headed north into a strong headwind.  It took him a while to get going, which gave me a great opportunity to get some nice shots of him in flight.

Bald Eagle (3)

Bald Eagle (5)

Bald Eagle (7)

Bald Eagle (10)

Bald Eagle (12)

Bald Eagle (18)

Bald Eagle (19)

Bald Eagle (22)

Bald Eagle (24)

Bald Eagle (27)

Bald Eagle (29)

 

Everyone gets excited by the big raptors, but this bird was as big a thrill for me as the eagle, mainly because I don’t see them often around here.  This is only the 4th time I’v seen a Say’s Phoebe (I think, I’m often wrong) in the 3 years I’ve been birding in the Panhandle.Say's Phoebe (3)

Leave a Reply

