Kids at the Park

My work week ended Monday morning at 0700 and I decided to drive down to Palo Duro Canyon, a state park about an hour south of where I live.  I stopped for a few minutes at a playa near the town of Panhandle, Tx that has water in for the first time since last fall.  We’ve had a pretty wet summer, comparatively speaking, even though we’re still a bit behind our rainfall average for this time of year, but the playa has remained dry. I guess it relies on runoff from the irrigated fields around it and because of the wet summer maybe the farmers haven’t irrigated as much this year. I dunno.

The playa had water and waterfowl but it was still so early and the sky was overcast so photography was impossible.  I spotted Northern Pintails, Northern Shovellers, Greater Yellowlegs, Blue-winged Teal, and Mallards and some Cattle Egrets.  I was hoping to see Sandhill Cranes, but they haven’t arrived here yet.

It was still overcast when I arrived at Palo Duro Canyon, but I was able to get some nice photos at the bird blind.  Apparently it was kids day at the park because nearly every bird I saw was a juvenile.

There were several young Northern Cardinals

Northern Cardinal (81) (1024x683) Northern Cardinal (85) (1024x684)

The crest on this one is pretty outrageous.

Northern Cardinal (87) (1024x786)

A Juvenile Painted Bunting

Painted Bunting Juvenile (2) (1024x741) Painted Bunting Juvenile (3) (1024x670)

And a Wilson’s Warbler (I think.) Possibly a 1st year female.  There was some discussion amongst a couple other birders at the blind that it might be a juvenile Hooded Warbler. Either one is a new bird for me.

Wilson's Warbler (1024x635) Wilson's Warbler (2) (1024x658) Wilson's Warbler (3) (1024x688)

There were a few adults around as well, A Black-headed Grosbeak female.

Black-headed Grosbeak (1024x684)

A golden-fronted Woodpecker maleGolden-fronted Woodpecker (7) (1024x684)

A White-winged Dove.White-winged dove (4) (1024x684)

A Canyon Towhee

Canyon Towhee (1024x684)

I’ve finally repaired all the photo links to the older posts of the blog.  When I make the move from the old hosting service I was using to WordPress.com, the photos didn’t all make the move for some reason and had to be re-uploaded from my stash at home. It was a very tedious chore.  So anyway, now you can click on any of the posts and see the photos.

2 thoughts on “Kids at the Park

  1. Pingback: Yellow-rumped Warbler | Photoavian

  2. Pingback: Rose-breasted Grosbeak | Photoavian

Leave a Reply

