Western Tanager

I went back out to Palo Duro Canyon this morning.  I had to be at RAC meetings (a Regonal Advisory Committee for EMs and Trauma hospitals) in Amarillo in the afternoon and they are so incredibly boring that I though I’d spend the morning birding in order to soothe my soul before that ordeal.  The morning was overcast for the fourth day in a row. We’ve not gotten any rain out of the hurricane yet but it rained a little this morning at the canyon and is supposed to rain all over the panhandle tomorrow.  It was a pretty good outing-I spotted another lifer, and got some nice photos of some of the regulars.

The new lifer was a female Western Tanager. and she posed quite patiently for me.Western Tanager (23) (1024x657) Western Tanager (22) (1024x684) Western Tanager (20) (1024x700) Western Tanager (19) (1024x665) Western Tanager (18) (1024x710) Western Tanager (17) (1024x656) Western Tanager (10) (1024x708) Western Tanager (8) (1024x705) Western Tanager (4) (1024x722) Western Tanager (2) (1024x783)

I’ll post other photos from this week’s two visits to Palo Duro Canyon over the next few days.

Leave a Reply

