Just My Luck

There was a loon on the large pond at Spring Canyon for a couple of weeks at the end of November.  I took several photos of it over several outings to the canyon but never posted any because they just weren’t all that good.  As a matter of fact, I’ve not taken any really good photos for a while, for several reasons, some personal, some work, some weather related, but mostly because there just haven’t seemed to be that many birds around when I do go out and good photo ops just didn’t present themselves.

Anyway, back to the loon.  I reported it as a Common Loon, a fairly frequent sighting for this area.  On December 2nd someone reported a Pacific Loon at the Canyon.  There’s been 5 sighting of Pacific loons in the last 15 years according to eBird, not counting this one, 4 by the same person (not the same person that reported the one recently.) Unfortunately I was at work that day and couldn’t get out there. Too bad, that would have been a nice addition to my photo collection.

All of the photos below were taken on extremely overcast days.  the days I work or have other things that have to get done are beautifull, the days I set asisde for birding have been crappy.

Oh, well, here’s the photo I took of what I believe is a Common Loon (a juvenile, I think.)Common Loon (19)

And, just for good measure, here’s a Ferruginous Hawk I saw up in Hansford Co. last week. Actually the last photo is of a second one I saw the same day.  There was also a third one but I didn’t get any good photos of it.Ferruginous Hawk (3) (1024x756) Ferruginous Hawk (5) (1024x658) Ferruginous Hawk (7) (1024x672) Ferruginous Hawk (8) (1024x698) Ferruginous Hawk (11) (1024x678) Ferruginous Hawk (18) (1024x672)

Leave a Reply

