Rock Wrens

Wrens are among my favorite birds. They are quite small-the two most common species in this area, Rock Wrens and Bewick’s Wrens are both less than six inches long, but they sing like they are ten feet tall.  I’ve been blessed with a Bewick’s serenade for the last couple of days. He’s found a suitable perch in the top of my cottonwood tree and his song comes floating in the open window in the mornings and evenings.
Yesterday my wife and I went out to McBride Canyon on the southern end of Lake Meredith and the Rock Wrens were holding court. Their songs echoing off the canyon walls were glorious.  Unfortunately they were too far away for good photos, but I did get shots of one at Spring Canyon the day before.

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

