Ring-billed Gull

I first reported this gull as a Herring Gull, but after I got home and looked at the photos, I’ve decided that it’s most probably a 1st summer Ring-billed Gull. The band across the tail and the wing markings are pretty distinctive.  I admire birders that can see all those minutiae in the field, but I’m not one of them. That’s why I took up photography-I need to scrutinize the birds and photos and read the descriptions before I can make a confident identification. Even then I’m wrong a lot.Ring-billed Gull (first winter) (1024x706)

Ring-billed Gull (first winter) (3) (1024x662)

Ring-billed Gull (first winter) (4) (1024x598)

Leave a Reply

