Upland Sandpiper

Occasionally, over the last  4 years that I’ve been birding, I’ve seen reports on eBird of Upland Sandpipers in the northern Texas Panhandle, but I’ve never seen one.  Every time someone reports one I go back though my photos of sandpipers, yellowlegs and other waders and shore birds, just to see if I’ve mis-identified an UPSA as something elss. I’ve had to correct a few photos but none of them were UPSA.  The latest reports were from a young man that was visiting here from Indiana I believe, so I’ve been looking around to try and find one to take a photo of.  Today I was driving around some of the farmland off of Hwy 207 north of Panhandle Texas. and came across four at one of the freshly recharged (4 inches of rain over 30 hours on Sunday and Monday!) playas.

Upland Sandpiper (1024x684)

Upland Sandpiper (2) (1024x738)

Upland Sandpiper (5) (1024x786) Upland Sandpiper (6) (1024x824) Upland Sandpiper (7) (1024x729) Upland Sandpiper (8) (1024x718)

Leave a Reply

