Diz

I grew up in the 60’s and 70’s listening to rock and roll. It wasn’t until I was in college that jazz found me and although I still love rock from that time, jazz and blues are my musical passion. Unfortunately, I had nowhere near the talent to perform jazz or blues (or rock for that matter, try as I might.) I still occasionally play for my own embarrassment, but mostly I turned my hand to other hobbies, birding being the current passion.

The reason I mention this was this Bullock’s Oriole I came across this morning.  He has musical talent that I can only dream of and more attitude and style that I, as an old guy (or even as the young dude I once was) could ever muster. Slick do, soul patch, sharp threads, and cheap sunglasses. BTW, Diz, for you younger folks, is Dizzy Gillespie, a trumpeter that was instrumental, along with Charlie “Bird” Parker and many others in the development of Bebop.

Bullock's Oriole (71) (1024x680) Bullock's Oriole (72) (1024x683) Bullock's Oriole (75) (1024x728) Bullock's Oriole (76) (1024x664) Bullock's Oriole (79) (1024x703)

Leave a Reply

