Rainy Day Birding

I left the house early one morning last week to go birding at Lake Meredith. It was overcast when I left and by the time I got to Spring Canyon it was pouring so hard I could barely see the road. I checked the weather maps and it seemed to be dryer south of us, so I headed south down 207 to the playas and fields north of Panhandle, TX. I’d been having pretty good luck in that area all summer, but not today. The rain followed me, still so heavy that it was hard to see anything, so I kept going south. I finally ran out of rain south of Amarillo and the weather stayed dry all the way to Palo Duro Canyon.

For some reason the feeders at the blind were empty and the bath was dry and there was no seed in the bin that is behind the little shop nearby so there wasn’t the usually crowd of birds. I did get a few good pictures though, and I hiked around the park a bit and saw a few more birds that I wasn’t able to photgraph. Even though it was as fruitful an outing as I usually have when I go to the park, I still enjoyed myself immensely. Palo Duro is a beautiful spot and has some great hiking trails.

Here’s the pics.

Painted Bunting juvenile (I think)Painted Bunting juvenile (4) (1024x684)

House Finch femalesHouse Finch (1024x684)

Northern Cardinal juvenileNorthern Cardinal (109) (1024x684) Northern Cardinal (113) (1024x684) Northern Cardinal (112) (1024x684)

Yellow-billed Cuckoo bug-huntingYellow-billed Cuckoo (31) (1024x684) Yellow-billed Cuckoo (36) (1024x684) Yellow-billed Cuckoo (40) (1024x684) Yellow-billed Cuckoo (42) (821x1024)

Leave a Reply

