Woodies

Earlier this week I went to Palo Duro Reservoir. It had been a month or so since I’d been there and I was hoping to see some waterfowl and shore birds that might have stopped over for a rest during migration. Unfortunately, there was neither on the morning I was there.

There was, however, a lot of woodpeckers, so I though I’d share a few photos.

Northern Flicker (yellow-shafted) There were red-shafted ones also but none of the photos turned out.Northern Flicker, yellow=shafted (1024x723)

Northern Flicker (yellow-shafted) and a juvenile Red-headed Woodpecker. The yellow shafts in the wing and tail show up nicely on this photo.Northern Flicker, yellow-shafted and Red-headed Woodpecker (1) (1024x689)

Red-bellied Woodpeckers, common but I don’t see them that often, only one other this summer. A Morning Dove bombed the photo in the last shot.Red-bellied Woodpecker (8) (1024x671) Red-bellied Woodpecker (9) (1024x675) Red-bellied Woodpecker (11) (1024x668) Red-bellied Woodpecker (13) (1024x678)

Hairy Woodpecker, another that I don’t see all that often. Downies, which are similar, but smaller, are more common, as far as I can tell.Hairy Woodpecker (8) (1024x645) Hairy Woodpecker (6) (1024x678) Hairy Woodpecker (1) (1024x648) Hairy Woodpecker (7) (1024x632)

Leave a Reply

