Virginia Rail

I’ve been hearing Virginia Rails at Spring Canyon during migration since I first started Birding over 4 years ago but have never been able to see or photograph one. They aren’t very big and they are very shy. I finally got a glimpse and a few poor quality pictures of one this morning. The sun hadn’t made it above the canyon walls when I first heard a pair calling in the cattails along a slough just below the dam at Lake Meredith. I parked the truck and sat there in the cold waiting for the sunrise when I caught a glimpse of something swimming in the slough. I focused the camera on an American Coot and then saw something smaller on the near bank. I changed focus and took a few quick shots of the rail. Surprisingly, he stayed in a small clear area for 15 minutes or so and I was able to get quite a few shots of him as the sun rose. I tried several different apertures and ISOs trying to get a fast enough shutter speed to get a focused shot, but unfortunately, none were great.  Still, I was pretty excited to finally get a look at this little guy.

Here are the best of the shots.Virginia Rail (1) (1024x692) Virginia Rail (2) (1024x669) Virginia Rail (3) (1024x691) Virginia Rail (4) (1024x684) Virginia Rail (5) (1024x664) Virginia Rail (6) (1024x684) Virginia Rail (7) (1024x631) Virginia Rail (8) (1024x684) Virginia Rail (9) (1024x684) Virginia Rail (10) (1024x683) Virginia Rail (11) (1024x709) Virginia Rail (12) (1024x687) Virginia Rail (13) (1024x756)

Leave a Reply

