Yellow-rumped Warbler

I wandered a little further than normal last week and ended up at a small lake about 85 miles northwest of my home. Rita Blanca Lake is in northern Hartley Co. just outside the town of Dalhart. I grew up in Dalhart and graduated high school from there a long, long time ago. The town has changed, grown a little, but I can still find my way around. I spent most of the morning on the lake and then drove around town, visiting all the old haunts. I didn’t see anyone I knew, but I hadn’t really expected to.

The lake is a lot smaller than when I lived in Dalhart, but they’ve developed some nice trails around it and it is a very nice place to bird with lots of cottonwoods and cattails to draw songbirds and waterfowl both, so I had a pretty successful outing. The best birds of the day were the Yellow-rumped Warblers, the first I’ve seen this spring. Although they are common during migrations around the panhandle I always enjoy seeing them.

Yellow-rumped Warbler (1) (1024x709) Yellow-rumped Warbler (2) (1024x598) Yellow-rumped Warbler (3) (1024x668) Yellow-rumped Warbler (6) (1024x656) Yellow-rumped Warbler (11) (1024x703) Yellow-rumped Warbler (13) (1024x742)

Leave a Reply

